About Us



The Alabama Scholastic Press Association seeks to empower K-12 newspaper, yearbook, newsmagazine, literary magazine, website and broadcast staffs in Alabama.


ASPA hosts The Long Weekend, a summer journalism camp in Tuscaloosa, Alabama each year, holds a State Convention in Tusaloosa, Alabama each spring, and presents a series of Fall Regional Workshops in various Alabama cities each September. ASPA also works in conjunction with and in support of the Multicultural Journalism Program and its summer workshop.


ASPA participates in events with the Southern Interscholastic Press Association, the National Scholastic Press Association, the Columbia Scholastic Press Association, and the National Elementary School Press Association, as well as coordinates an annual critique of publications and broadcasts and offers individual contests and on-site competitions. ASPA stands ready to assist K-12 journalists and advisers.



ASPA Board of Directors, 2019-2021

President: Capri Day, Brookwood High School, Tuscaloosa

Vice President: Barbara Bateman, Daphne High School, Mobile

Secretary: Silvia Scaife, Auburn High School, Auburn

Immediate Past-President: Renee Quaife, Sparkman High School, Harvest


Members at Large

Birmingham: Connie Nolen, Pelham High School, Pelham

Montgomery: Gina Aaij, LAMP High School, Montgomery

Huntsville: Michelle Sisson, Lee High School, Huntsville

Mobile: Lindsay Koen, McGill-Toolen High School, Mobile

Auburn: Vacant

ASPA Schools

Below is the list of schools ASPA partners with across Alabama. We wipe the slate clean each school year and start over. Don't see your school on our list or want to become an ASPA member? Fill out this form!



Bayside Academy, Azimuth Circle literary magazine, Daphne

Clay-Chaklville High School, CCN-TV broadcast, Pinson

Clements High School, The Corral Yearbook, Athens

Daphne High School, Palladium yearbook, Daphne

Hillcrest High School, PATS TV, Tuscaloosa


Loveless Academic Magnet Program (LAMP) High School, The Torch yearbook, Montgomery

McGill-Toolen Catholic High School, Vespidae yearbook; Ingenium literary magazine, Mobile

Pike Road High School, The Revere, Pike Road

Sparkman High School, Silhouette literary magazine; The Senator yearbook; The Crimson Crier newspaper; Crimson Crier online website, Harvest

St. Clair County High School, St. Clarion yearbook

Thompson High School, THS-TV, Alabaster

Tuscaloosa Career and Technology Academy, BCN-TV broadcast, Tuscaloosa




Banks Middle School, Bobcat news broadcast, Birmingham


Bayside Academy, Admiral TV, Broadcast; Azimuth Circle literary magazine, Daphne

Bob Jones High School, The Eclectic literary magazine; Patriot Pages website, Madison

Brookwood High School, Panther Talk broadcast; The Mind's Eye literary magazine, Brookwood

Clay-Chaklville High School, CCN-TV broadcast, Pinson


Covenant Christian School, yearbook, The Eagle


Daphne High School, Palladium yearbook; DNN broadcast; Oracle newspaper, Daphne


East Limestone High School, Natives' News newspaper, Athens

North High School yearbook, Evansville, Indiana

Florala High School, newspaper,  Wildcat Wednesday broadcast, Florala

Hale County College and Career Academy website, Greensboro

Hillcrest High School, PATS TV, Tuscaloosa


Louis Pizitz Middle School, literary magazine, Vestavia Hills


Loveless Academic Magnet Program (LAMP) High School, The Torch yearbook, Montgomery


Lee High School, Harmonius Lee literary magazine


Madison County High School, Word Riot literary magazine, Gurley


McGill-Toolen Catholic High School, Vespidae yearbook; McT Live broadcast, Ingenium literary magazine, Mobile

Montevallo High School, Spotlight website, Montevallo


Mountain Brook High School, Olympian yearbook, The Sword and Shield newspaper, Mountain Brook


Murphy High School, The Mohian yearbook, Mobile

New Hope High School The Indian yearbook;  The Arrow Newspaper, New Hope

North High School, Compass yearbook, Evansville, Indiana

Northridge High School, blueprints yearbook; The Northridge Reporter, Tuscaloosa


Oak Mountain High School, Eagle's Eye newspaper; Esse literary magazine; Paragon yearbook, Birmingham

Oak Mountain Middle School, OMMS News broadcast; The Talon yearbook, Birmingham

Opelika High School, Zig Zag yearbook, Opelika 

Pelham High School, The Pinnacle yearbook; More Than Words literary magazine; Panther Playback broadcast, Pelham

Riverchase Career Connection Center (RC3) literary magazine, Hoover

Sparkman High School, Silhouette literary magazine; The Senator yearbook; The Crimson Crier newspaper; Crimson Crier online website, Harvest

St. Clair County High School, St. Clarion yearbook


Sylacauga High School, Aggie News Network broadcast, Sylacauga 


Thompson High School, THS-TV, Alabaster


Tuscaloosa Career and Technology Academy, BCN-TV broadcast, Tuscaloosa


Tuscaloosa County High School, CATS TV, Tuscaloosa


UMS-Wright Preparatory School, Mind's Eye Literary magazine, Mobile

Westlawn Middle School Falcon's Nest newspaper, Tuscaloosa

Past ASPA Directors and Coordinators

1958-80                 James L. Nisbet, director, High School Service, Division of 

                                Continuing Education

-1976                     William F. O’Connor, director, Field Services, School of


1976-81                 Charles Arrendell, chair, Program in Journalism/AHSPA-AJEA 


1980-                     John K. Conroy, director, Office of Campus Programs

1981-82                 Rita Oates, professor of journalism/AHSPA-AJEA liaison

1981-85                 Charles Self, chair, Journalism Department, AHSPA liaison

1982-84                 Marian Huttentine, professor of journalism/ASPA coordinator

                                David Heggem, Office of Campus Programs

1984-92                 Marie Parsons, graduate assistant and journalism 

                                instructor/ASPA director

1985-87                 David Sloan, acting chair, Journalism Department

1987-91                 Jay Black, chair, Journalism Department

1991-92                 Ed Mullins, chair, Journalism Department

1992-94                 Kathy Lawrence, director, Student Media Programs/ASPA


1992-93                 Suzanne Cambell, graduate assistant/ASPA coordinator

1993-94                 Jimmy McCollum, graduate assistant/ASPA coordinator

1994-01                 Monica Hill, external relations specialist, Division of Student

                                Affairs/ASPA director

2002-04                 Andy Duncan, assistant  director, Office of Student



2004-05                 Deidre Stalnaker, assistant director, Office of Student



2005-07                 Amanda Al-Betar, program coordinator, UA College of

                                Continuing Studies

2007                      Marissa Reeves, instructor, journalism/public relations, liaison

2006-07                 Loy Singleton, acting chair, Department of Journalism

2007                      Jennifer Greer, chair, Department of Journalism

2007-2008            Marie Parsons, emeritus, ASPA interim director

2008-present        Meredith Cummings, journalism instructor, ASPA director


© 2020 by ASPA  |  Proudly created with Wix.com